Delaware, Ohio And Washington Have Been Removed From DC’s High-Risk State List

Mª del Rosario Castro Díaz Mª del Rosario Castro Díaz


The three states have been removed from DC’s travel restriction list, per an executive order from Mayor Bowser.

DC has updated its travel-restriction list and it would seem like Delaware, Ohio and Washington have now been removed. New states have also been added including  Alaska, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, and Minnesota, bringing the total of states in the list to 29.

After an increase in cases, city officials issued a travel-restriction order late last month,  requiring all residents and people traveling to or from designated ‘high-risk areas’ for non-essential travel to quarantine for 14 days after their arrival. Exceptions included travelers passing through the DC area and essential-travelers, who only had to limit their contact activities for the corresponding 14-day period.

The ‘high-risk areas’  are defined by DC officials as  “locations where the 7-day moving average daily new COVID-19 case rate is ten (10) or more per one hundred thousand (100,000) persons.” The list of these states was first published on July, 27 and it is updated every two weeks.

While these travel restrictions never applied to Maryland nor Virginia and it would seem that neither do they no longer apply to Delaware either. This means Washingtonians may still get to enjoy the state’s beautiful beaches this summer!


The current full list of high-risk states includes: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

See also: Restaurants Around DC Are Raising Money In Support Of Lebanon

[featured image: Oz Seyrek, Unsplash]

Top News